Photo: LIBER Europe 2015

Call for Papers and Posters is closed

Libraries Opening Paths to Knowledge

Ensuring access to knowledge has always been at the heart of the mission of research libraries. In the digital age, and with the growth of Open Science, this implies not only preserving and providing access to content but also opening up new pathways to interacting with and creating knowledge.


1) Content and Processes

Working ever more closely with researchers throughout the research life cycle to encourage and help them to open up their research process and to make both their outputs and methodologies available during and beyond the life of a research project, libraries are moving from curation to creation and workflows.

2) Services

Engaging in user-led development of services, and a trend towards the creation of shared services as well as developing new methods and opportunities for user engagement.

3) Legal & Ethical

Keeping abreast of emerging legislative developments  and considering how to  act responsibly to address ethical issues in making data open. Opening up new pathways to knowledge and knowledge creation can also has legal and ethical implications related to copyright and data protection.

4) Space & Experimentation

Rethinking library spaces (physical and virtual) to open up opportunities for experimentation and the visualisation of data, and leveraging e-infrastructure to support collaboration and sharing across borders and disciplines.

We invite submissions of

  • Research papers presenting theoretical solutions, but with a clear  illustration on how these solutions can be applied
  • Position papers presenting opinions on some aspect of practice, or describing work that is still in progress, but sufficiently mature to warrant attention
  • Experiences and case studies specifying requirements, challenges or opportunities
  • Best practices

Topics for the Conference are

1) Content and Processes

Research data management and workflows, new open access publishing models, open science, open data and data reuse, advocacy, open peer review

2) Services

Shared services, user-led development, crowd sourcing, citizen science, new metrics, engagement and marketing, text and data mining services

3) Legal & Ethical

Data policies, data protection and the right to be forgotten, copyright

4) Space & Experimentation

Library as laboratory/makerspaces, data visualisation, digital humanities, building services, innovative uses of institutional repositories, cloud services.


The Programme Committee will select abstracts based on the following criteria

  • Relevance for the call for papers
  • Originality
  • Level of innovation
  • Impact on the wider library community
  • Quality of the abstract

How to submit your abstract

To submit an abstract of your paper or poster, please use the LIBER website at:

The deadline for submission of abstracts is 15 February 2016

Guidance and notes on submitting

  • Accepted contributions will be limited to one paper and/or poster abstract per
  • All submissions will be automatically considered for the LIBER Award and for the LIBER Annual Conference Fund
  • Abstract length should be a minimum of 250 words and should not exceed 500 words. The language of the conference will be English, therefore the Committee will only accept submissions in this language.
  • All submitted abstracts will be peer-reviewed by at least two reviewers who will
    evaluate them on the basis of the criteria mentioned above.
  • Authors are encouraged to submit their accepted papers for publication in LIBER Quarterly, which is now a fully peer-reviewed journal. Instructions for this can be found on the journal website; you may also contact the Managing Editor, Raf Dekeyser, at:

For tips on writing abstracts, please see the following link:

Please note that all presenters are responsible for their own registration and travel costs

LIBER Conference Programme Committee members:
Jeanette Frey, Chair (Switzerland), Susan Reilly, Co-ordinator (Netherlands), Ann Matheson (United Kingdom), Claudia Fabian (Germany), Kurt De Belder (Netherlands), Julien Roche (France), Elena Macevičiūtė (Lithuania), Kristina Pai (Estonia), Bo Öhrström (Denmark), Jo Rademakers (Belgium), Sylvia Van Peteghem (Belgium), Anna Lunden (Sweden), Marc Martinez (France), Maria Cassella (Italy), Adam Sofronijevic (Serbia), Wilhelm Widmark (Sweden), Giannis Tsakonas (Greece), Birgit Schmidt (Germany), Martin Moyle (United Kingdom), Thanos Giannakopoulos (Austria), Jana Ķikāne (Latvia) Raf Dekeyser (Belgium), Pirjo-Leena Forstrom (Finland), Kimmo Tuominen (Finland)